The 10 New Deaneries of the Diocese of Lansing

Below is a list of the 10 new deaneries that will come effect across the Diocese of Lansing on July 1, 2023, as well as the name of each respective dean. Also listed are the constituent parish groupings within each deanery along with the names of each parish and respective pastor. 


1. Southern Deanery | Dean: Fr. Todd Koenigsknecht

Hillsdale/West Lenawee Grouping
Sacred Heart, Hudson, Lenawee, Fr. Todd Koenigsknecht
St Anthony of Padua, Hillsdale, Hillsdale, Fr. David Reamsnyder
St Mary on the Lake, Manitou Beach, Lenawee, Fr. Todd Koenigsknecht

Eastern Lenawee Grouping
Holy Family (includes St. Mary of Good Counsel and St. Joseph Oratory,  Adrian), Adrian, Lenawee, Fr. Michael Newman,  OSFS
Light of Christ (includes St. Alphonsus and St. Peter the Apostle Oratory, Blissfield), Deerfield, Lenawee, Fr. Jeffrey Poll
St Elizabeth (includes St. Dominic Oratory, Clinton), Tecumseh, Lenawee, Fr. Dan Wheeler

2. Jackson Deanery | Dean: Fr. Tim MacDonald

The Lakes Grouping
Our Lady of Fatima, Michigan Center, Jackson, Fr. Satheesh Alphonse,  SdC
St Joseph Shrine, Brooklyn, Lenawee, Fr. Zach Mabee
St Rita, Clarklake, Jackson, Fr. Thomas Helfrich, OSFS

Jackson Grouping
Queen of the Miraculous Medal, Jackson, Jackson, Fr. Timothy MacDonald
St Catherine Laboure, Concord, Jackson, Fr. Timothy MacDonald
St John the Evangelist/St Joseph the Worker (includes St. Joseph Oratory,  Jackson), Jackson, Jackson, Fr. Charles Canoy
St Mary Star of the Sea  (includes St. Stanislaus Oratory,  Jackson) and Sagrada Corazon Community, Jackson, Jackson, Fr. Timothy Nelson

3. Lansing Deanery | Dean: Fr. Steve Mattson

Lansing North Grouping
Church of the Resurrection, Lansing, Ingham, Fr. Steve Mattson
St Andrew Dung-Lac, Lansing, Ingham, Fr. Joe Sy Kim
St Mary Cathedral, Lansing, Ingham, Fr. Karl Pung
St Therese, Lansing, Ingham, Fr. John Fain

East Lansing/Shiawassee Grouping
St Mary, Morrice, Shiawassee, Msgr. George Michalek
St Thomas Aquinas (includes St. John Church & Student Center, East Lansing), East Lansing, Ingham, Fr. Gordon Reigle

Eastern Ingham Grouping
St Martha, Okemos, Ingham, Fr. Michael Murray
St Mary, Williamston, Ingham, Fr. David Fons

4. Northern Deanery | Dean: Fr. Mike Williams

Clinton Grouping
Most Holy Trinity, Fowler, Clinton, Fr. Eric Weber
St Mary, Westphalia, Clinton, Fr. Eric Weber

Clinton/Shiawassee Grouping
St Isidore /Hoy Family, Ovid, Laingsburg, Shiawassee, Fr. Anthony Brooks
St Joseph, Saint Johns, Clinton, Fr. Michael Williams
St Jude, DeWitt, Clinton, Fr. David Speicher

5. Western Deanery | Dean: Fr. Jim Rolph

Lansing South Grouping
Cristo Rey, Lansing, Ingham, Fr. Vincent Richardson
Immaculate Heart of Mary, Lansing, Ingham, Fr. James Rolph
Sts James, Cornelius and Cyprian  (includes Sts. Cornelius & Cyprian Oratory, Leslie), Mason, Ingham, Fr. Kusitino Cobona 
St Peter, Eaton Rapids, Eaton, Fr. George Puthenpeedika

Eaton County Grouping
St Gerard, Lansing, Eaton, Fr. Robert Bacik
St Mary (includes St. Ann Oratory,  Bellevue), Charlotte, Eaton, Fr. Dwight Ezop
St Michael, Grand Ledge, Eaton, Fr. James Eisele

6. Northeastern Deanery | Dean: Fr. Joe Krupp

Shiawassee/Genesee Grouping
Good Shepherd, Montrose, Genesee, Fr. Jonathan Perrotta
St Mary and St. Joseph Parish (includes St. Joseph Oratory, Gaines), Durand, Shiawassee, Dcn. Wayne Corrion
St Mary Queen of Angels, Swartz Creek, Genesee, Fr. Louis Ekka
St Paul (includes St. Joseph Oratory, Owosso), Owosso, Shiawassee, Fr. Michael O'Brien
St Robert Bellarmine, Flushing, Genesee, Fr. Jonathan Perrotta

Southern Genesee Grouping
Holy Family, Grand Blanc, Genesee, Fr. Joseph Krupp,
St John the Evangelist, Fenton, Genesee, Fr. Robert Copeland,
St Mark the Evangelist, Grand Blanc, Genesee, Fr. Joseph Krupp

7. Flint Deanery | Dean: TBD

Flint Grouping
Christ the King, Flint, Genesee, Fr. Thomas Firestone
Holy Redeemer, Burton, Genesee, Fr. Steve Anderson
Our Lady of Guadalupe, Flint, Genesee, Fr. Anthony Strouse
St John Vianney (includes St. Mary Oratory,  Flint), Flint, Genesee, Fr. Thomas Firestone
St Matthew, Flint, Genesee, Fr. Anthony Strouse
St Pius X, Flint, Genesee, Fr. Anthony Strouse

Eastern Genesee Grouping
Holy Rosary, Flint, Genesee, Fr. Roy Horning
SS Charles & Helena, Clio, Genesee, Fr. Kenneth Coughlin
St Francis Xavier, Otisville, Genesee, Fr. Kenneth Coughlin
St John the Evangelist (includes Blessed Sacrament Oratory,  Burton), Davison, Genesee, Fr. Andrew Czajkowski
St Mary, Mount Morris, Genesee, Fr. Roy Horning

8. Livingston Deanery | Dean: Fr. Mathias Thelen

Western Livingston Grouping
St Agnes Parish, Fowlerville, Livingston, Fr. Nate Sokol
St Joseph, Howell, Livingston, Fr. Gary Koenigsknecht

Northeast Livingston Grouping
St Augustine, Howell, Livingston, Fr. Gregg Pleiness
St John the Baptist, Howell, Livingston, Fr. Francis George
St Mary Magdalen, Brighton, Livingston, Fr. Paul Erickson

South Livingston/NE Washtenaw Grouping
Holy Spirit, Brighton, Livingston, Fr. John Rocus
St Mary, Pinckney, Livingston, Fr. Daniel Kogut
St Patrick, Brighton, Livingston, Fr. Mathias Thelen
St Patrick Parish, Ann Arbor, Washtenaw, Fr. Thomas Wasilewski

9. Ann Arbor Deanery | Dean: Fr. Bill Ashbaugh

Downtown Ann Arbor Grouping
St Francis of Assisi, Ann Arbor, Washtenaw, Fr. James Conlon
St Mary Student Parish, Ann Arbor, Washtenaw, Fr. James Gartland, SJ
St Thomas the Apostle, Ann Arbor, Washtenaw, Fr. William Ashbaugh

Eastern Washtenaw Grouping
Christ the King, Ann Arbor, Washtenaw, Fr. Ed Fride
St John the Baptist, Ypsilanti, Washtenaw, Fr. Daniel Westermann
St Joseph, Ypsilanti, Washtenaw, Fr. Pieter van Rooyen

10. Southeastern Deanery | Dean: Fr. Brendan Walsh

Southern Washtenaw Grouping
Immaculate Conception, Milan, Washtenaw, Fr. Vincent VanDoan
St Andrew, Saline, Washtenaw, Fr. John Linden 
St Mary, Manchester, Washtenaw, Fr. Bosco Padamattummal

Western Washtenaw Grouping
St Joseph, Dexter, Washtenaw, Fr. Brendan Walsh
St Mary, Chelsea, Washtenaw, Fr. William Turner