2019 Diaconate Ordination

On May 18, Bishop Boyea ordained 12 men to the diaconate. The ordination Mass at St. Thomas Aquinas Church in East Lansing was filled with more than 1,000 worshippers, along with more than 100 Diocese of Lansing priests and deacons. Two of the seminarian candidates were ordained to the transitional diaconate and are scheduled to be ordained to the priesthood in 2020.

Transitional Deacons are:

John Vinton (Holy Spirit, Brighton)
Michael Cassar (St Patrick, Ann Arbor)

Permanent Deacons are:

Sean Costello(St Matthew, Flint)
Eric Elstro (St Joseph, St Johns)
Phil Guyeskey (St Gerard, Lansing)
Pete Hansen ( Christ the King, Ann Arbor)
Robert Nieman (St Jude, DeWitt)
Gary Perrydore (St Patrick, Ann Arbor)
Gordon Prepsky (St John Baptist, Ypsilanti)
Richard Stoolmaker (St John Evangelist, Fenton)
Robert Strouse (St Jude, DeWitt)
Kevin Wiley (St Mary, Pinckney)